If you log on to a Mac that is not joined to Active Directory and expect the user account to be downgraded from Admin to User, but it doesn’t happen and the icon appears red in the toolbar, you are most likely hitting the “Last Admin Check”.
You can confirm this by clicking the red icon. The intention of this check is to make sure you always have a service account. If you don’t have at least one admin account, you cannot change, modify or delete user accounts on the computer and you can never uninstall Admin By Request.
If you use the “Revoke admins rights” option in the portal to revoke user rights, all user accounts will be downgraded from Admin to User, when they log on. In the portal settings, you can specify user accounts that are excluded. These would typically be service accounts for a Help Desk or similar. If no excluded accounts are specified and the machine is not joined to Active Directory, the revoke will not be executed for the last administrator and it falls under the “Last Admin Check”.
Last Admin Check is no longer used - please refer to Portal Administration for Mac for more information.